Active vs. Archived Emails - Showing up in Active Total

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 month ago
  • Answered
We just went over our active contact total and I want to resolve this moving forward. I just created a segment of contacts that are not part of a group and archived all within the segment. Yet when I look at the homepage - it says account activity 9K, but I only have approximately 1,700 truly active contacts when I go to contacts. I want to better manage to our active contact total, but I'm getting incorrect totals on the home page. I want to be sure not to get overbilled again.  I'm using Chrome Version 61.0.3163.100.

Thanks.

Karla Wiese
Photo of De La Salle High School

De La Salle High School

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 7 months ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Zach Sharpe

Zach Sharpe, Employee

  • 289 Posts
  • 32 Reply Likes
Hi Karla,

The way your contacts are calculated for billing purposes are by taking active + archived contacts for that month. This creates somewhat of a high-water mark where the next month would start by only looking at your current active contacts. 

The home screen displays this number for you to better manage where you are at with contact count for the month and will reset at the beginning of each billing cycle (start of the month). It actually looks like this has reset already for your account.

You can look at your current active total by going to audience > contacts > active tab.

It sounds like you took the right steps in reducing contacts effectively and your billing will be account for significantly less contacts going forward!

I hope this clears things up and let me know if I can answer any other questions you may have on this!

Thanks!

Zach
Photo of Judson College

Judson College

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi, I've been encountering the same problem as Karla, but we're billed annually. I did a list cleanup as she did (archiving and then permanently deleting unused active contacts) but will need to add more contacts before we are billed again later this year. If my account home screen will continue to display the old number of active contacts until billing is reset, will I be billed overages if I upload more contacts on top of that number (even though those contacts have been permanently deleted)?

Thanks!

Mary Amelia 
Photo of Grey Stepp

Grey Stepp, Support Team Manager

  • 1693 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
Hi Mary Amelia, 

The numbers there on the home page can get a little confusing for an annually billed account.  Let me break it down this way.  

Your contact totals are still calculated every month and equal " # of active contacts + number of active contacts that were archived during that month"  

For example, say that you're on a 10k contact per month plan, billed annually.  This means that in total you've purchased 120k contacts total for the year, as calculated by adding the monthly totals together.   

The benefit of this is that if one month you are calculated in at 8k, and one month at 12k, those even each other out.  Because in the end, each month's totals are added together and that total of 12 months needs to be under 120k.  

It could break down like this:

Jan:  7k
Feb: 8k
Mar: 15k
Apr: 10k
May: 10k
Jun: 8k
July: 20k
Aug: 20k
Sep: 5k
Oct: 5k
Nov: 6k
Dec: 6k

That would total up to 120k contacts and there wouldn't be any overages, even though you had 3 months that were over the plan limit.

I hope that helps !