Can I save the recipients of a mailing as a group?

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Not a Problem
  • (Edited)
I sent a mailing to a segment of people who signed up for our emails in 2010 and have not opted in.  I excluded known clients from 2014, 15 and 16. (We have them identified in groups so I excluded certain groups from the segment)

Can I save this recipient list as a group,  So I can move anyone in the group who doesn't opt-in to opt-out status?

Or tell me if there is a better way to clean out old contacts?
Photo of Edge of the Woods

Edge of the Woods

  • 40 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes
  • confused

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Grey Stepp

Grey Stepp, Support Team Manager

  • 1700 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hey there, 

Sorry it's taken us a bit to get back to you.  One of my teammates was checking out your questions yesterday, but I'll go ahead and jump in for him.  

A. Yes, you can.  If you open the response data for that mailing and click on the "Received" number, it will bring up a list of all of the people that received your mailing.  At the top of that list is a button that says "Save this tab as a segment".  Clicking that will create a Segment of everyone who received that mailing. From that segment, you can copy those contacts into a Group if you're wanting them in Group form or if you're looking to segment FROM that group.  

B. What Ross was working on yesterday and just hadn't gotten typed out to you yet was a Segment that he called "Test".  We pulled the segment based on people who received your "send to 2010 people who did not opt in" mailing who also have "Managed their preferences in the last week".  This is what that looks like:



I think that's going to be the best way to find what you're looking for.  

After that, if you're looking to clean out anyone who did not Manage their preferences from that particular group, these are the steps I would take:

1. Open the group that you sent to (or the segment of everyone who received the mailing)
2. Move all of those contacts to Error status
3. Open up the segment of people who DID manage their preferences (which will now be in Error Status)
4. Move those contacts to Active status
5. Open the original group of folks sent to and delete all of the Error contacts, leaving the Active contacts, being the ones from the segment. 

Let me know if you have any questions around this.  

Cheers!

- G