Cleaning up lists to remove error users

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • Not a Problem
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: Resolved

I'm having a problem in that I upload fresh lists, from our offline database, into Emma. I delete old ones (because I know Emma retains opt-out data, which I don't want to lose). However, I find that Emma still retains and sends emails to users that no longer belong on a list (often, in my case, because they are no longer at a member institution we are emailing). We might get an error response to us via email, like "this user no longer at this school" yet no matter how hard I try and maintain clean fresh lists from our offline database, Emma overrides me. Please advise!
Photo of TABS

TABS

  • 11 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
  • frustrated

Posted 6 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Tyler Scott

Tyler Scott, Employee

  • 805 Posts
  • 39 Reply Likes
Hey there! Sorry for the frustrations, but hopefully I can shed some light on the removing audience member process. What you are describing sounds like you may have deleted the group itself, but not the individual members. When just the group is deleted those audience members remain in your audience, but are in a LIMBO status (not assigned to a specific group).

To delete the members from your group along with the entire audience, you will want to head to your audience page and click on the specific group name. Once this page loads you'll see where it says take selected members. Click on this and then select all members. Then click the delete them button located just to the right. Click on the drop down menu which says this group and you'll want to select all groups and your audience. Then click the delete button. This will delete them completely from your audience.

Hopefully this helps clarify things a bit, but please let me know if I can assist further.