Contact Deleted, Remember Preferences?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 7 months ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: EOL CLEANUP

So going forward with GDPR, we have been instructed to delete all data after a send, including from the new 'archive' feature.

What would happen if:

- Uploaded data
- We sent an email
- Received some opt outs
- Deleted all contacts from Emma, including Archive
- Uploaded data for another send that included some previous opt outs?

Would these opt outs be seen as a fresh contact and effectively be active in or would Emma remember these deleted, now re-uploaded, contacts were opt outs?

If Emma does remember these are opt outs, surely this means Emma still stores personal information such as email and preference, even after this data has been deleted?
Photo of Key Blue

Key Blue

  • 47 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 7 months ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Zach Sharpe

Zach Sharpe, Employee

  • 290 Posts
  • 32 Reply Likes
Hello!

All of our information regarding GDPR, and privacy as a whole, can be found at https://myemma.com/trust - this includes our intent for aligning with lawful data processing.

For contact removal, we intend to align with the right to erasure *and* CAN-SPAM / CASSL laws.

GDPR information, specifically, can be found at https://myemma.com/trust/gdpr-compliance

We're currently very focused on GDPR compliance and will be ready to address the needs of our customers with this by May 25th, 2018.

Be on the lookout for more information after May 25th for changes to the application.

Thanks!

Zach
Photo of Key Blue

Key Blue

  • 47 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Hi Zach,

Thank you for your reply.

Could I get confirmation regarding:

'Would these opt outs be seen as a fresh contact and effectively be active in or would Emma remember these deleted, now re-uploaded, contacts were opt outs?'

Kind regards

Richard
Photo of Zach Sharpe

Zach Sharpe, Employee

  • 290 Posts
  • 32 Reply Likes
Hi Richard,

Even contacts that are completely erased will be tagged as opt out if they are reintroduced into your audience.

This allows us to comply with compliance laws and GDPR.

Thanks!

Zach