Copy contacts to new group, delete original group contacts?

  • 1
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
I am cleaning up my audience list, deleting groups and moving members into one group, to be evaluated later. So before deleting the original group, I click "copy to group" and select the new group I want them moved into. Once this is done, do I just delete the old group? Or do I delete the contacts in the old group as well?

I guess essentially my question is, are the contacts from the old group duplicated into the new group? Or are they simply moved into the new group, so deleting them in the old group is not necessary?
Photo of ETSU Online Programs

ETSU Online Programs

  • 10 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
  • 1
Photo of Sam Collis

Sam Collis, Customer Support Specialist

  • 252 Posts
  • 59 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi there!

Thanks for a great question. I'd be happy to clarify how copying contacts to a new group works.

A contact can exist in multiple groups or segments but will only ever be the one contact.  In other words, when you copy a contact (or bunch of contacts) to a new group the original contact just gains another group membership -- duplicates aren't created of that contact.  When you delete a group, you're just deleting the shell that contains those contacts.

It sounds like you're migrating contacts from one group to another.  If this is the case then you can delete the previous group once you've copied those contacts to the new group.  IF the event arises where you need to undelete a group - don't worry - you can retrieve that group from your "deleted items" section (from the menu) which, when reinstated will contain those previous contacts.  We have an article on our Resource Center here that you might find to be useful on group membership.

Given that you're cleaning up your groups, I thought it might also be worth mentioning what it means for a contact to be in "limbo".  This is when a contact exists in your account but has no membership to any groups.  This is something that may potentially happen during a clean out, so I thought it might be useful to let you know how you can find these guys and copy them to a group.  You would want to create a segment based on Audience Groups -> Limbo.  Feel free to use this article as a guide if you need.

I hope that clarifies any confusion you may have had in regards to group membership, please don't hesitate to let me know if you have any further questions on this :)