Delete a segment

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Answered
Hi there - when I attempt to delete a segment, I receive a popup message that says, "are you sure you want to delete all contacts from all lists".  I do not want to delete all contacts from ALL lists, just from the one segment I am working with.  I don't recall seeing that specific message before - can you clarify?
Photo of HandsOn Greater Richmond

HandsOn Greater Richmond

  • 5 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Laura Dickerson

Laura Dickerson, Official Rep

  • 778 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi there,

Are you trying to just delete the segment? If so you can select the segment and delete it without deleting the folks within. If you want to take out members of the segment, you will need to change the segment to a group to remove individuals without taking them out of the system.

To change the Segment to a Group: 
  1. From the main Audience page, click on the name of the Group or Segment that contains the contacts you'd like to copy.
  2. Select "all contacts" to copy everyone in the group

  3. Click copy them in the audience menu at the top of the screen, and choose Copy to groups.
  4. Choose your destination group(s) from the menu, and click Copy.

The contacts you copy will remain in the original group. If you no longer want to keep the original group after moving its members, return to the main Audience page, and delete the group.

Once that is done, you can select and remove the folks you don't want in the group: 

  1. Open the group and place a checkmark beside each contact you want to remove. 
  2. At the top or bottom of the screen, choose to take "selected contacts" and delete them Choosing "this group" will remove the selected contacts from this group only.Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 101810 AMpng
  3. Click Delete.
I know there is a feature request to have this dropdown option in Segments. I will certainly add you to that request.

I hope that helps!