Does anyone know what will happen if I delete an audience group?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Answered
I upload an excel spreadsheet specific donors with their donation details on a regular basis and give it a unique group name. As well, I add that group to our growing list of "Active Donors". The little lists of donors is getting to be quite large and I'd like to delete them but I can't tell if that will also delete their response activity or will that automatically be updated on every list that their name is included?
Photo of Visionledd

Visionledd

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Damian Gatta

Damian Gatta, Official Rep

  • 342 Posts
  • 43 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi there!

Deleting an audience group will not delete any contacts in the group from your Audience.  If the contacts are in other audience groups, they will remain in those groups with all their response data and contact history in their contact record.  Deleting a group does just that, it will only delete the group but not the contacts that are in the group. 

If the contacts in these groups are not in other audience groups, they will go into Limbo in your audience after you delete the group.  Meaning, they will still be in your audience but not associated with a group.  You can create a segment on your Segment Tab to search for all contacts that are in Limbo and then assign them to a group.  Take a look here for steps on how to create a Limbo segment.

Let me know if you have any questions or if there is anything else I can do to help!