Does removing/archiving a group remove those contacts from the active contacts list?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 7 months ago
  • Answered
We keep bumping up against our contact limit but there doesn't seem to be an easy way to mass delete contacts.   Does removing/archiving a group remove those contacts from the active contacts?  Or does removing/archiving a group simply lose the group but keep the contacts in the active contact count?
Photo of ReSource WeSpeakPOS

ReSource WeSpeakPOS

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 7 months ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Zach Sharpe

Zach Sharpe, Employee

  • 288 Posts
  • 32 Reply Likes
Hello!

There are many ways we can effectively archive your contacts. As a general note, our contact based billing is calculated based on your active contacts + archived contacts for that month. Any archived contacts start the following month (11/1) would not count towards that cycle (unless they were brought back into active).

Creating segments based on opens can be a great first step towards cleaning out contacts. My suggestion would be to create a segment at audience > segments > create a new segment, then creating parameters based on response history. From here you can find folks who have not opened in the past year (or however long a time span) so you can capture your least active recipients! Once the segment is built just navigate back inside of it select actions > archive all to clear out the contacts.

Feel free to also have a look at our resource center page here:
https://support.e2ma.net/Resource_Center/Account_how-to/Using_the_segment_builder

Lastly, archiving a group or segment *does not* archive the contacts inside of it, only the 'container' itself. You can create a segment for contacts that do not belong in any group to find any that may not currently belong to a group!

I hope this helps point you in the right direction.

Thanks!

Zach