How can I delete a segment without deleting the contacts who are in that segment?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
I was playing around with segments to learn how they work, but now I have several I don't need anymore. When I go to delete a segment, though, it asks me if I'm sure I want to delete those contacts and no, I definitely don't! What to do?
Photo of Laurie T.

Laurie T.

  • 98 Posts
  • 11 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Emily Hollingsworth

Emily Hollingsworth, Alum

  • 2203 Posts
  • 158 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hey Laurie -- Great question! If you're deleting the segment itself from the audience page, you're only deleting that segment, not the contacts in it. Essentially, you're removing that basket and the criteria that were pulling those contacts into that basket.



If you open the segment and select contacts to delete, you'll be asked if you want to delete the contacts from all groups and your audience. This will indeed move those selected contacts to your deleted items.



This comes in handy if you want to use segments to isolate and delete your unengaged readers! Let me know if that doesn't clear things up.