How to undo an accidental manual opt out?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
Using Emma, I accidentally manually opted out three people - completely my fault.  The audience members did not request to be opted out and did not click our "opt out" button.  I was looking at response and foolishly mixed up "opened" with "opt out" and noticed they were not opted out of the audience group, so I did it manually.   When I realized my mistake, I cannot opt them back in via their contact record.  How can I do this?
Photo of Wild Swan Theater

Wild Swan Theater

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Grey Stepp

Grey Stepp, Support Team Manager

  • 1700 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi there!

While you don't have access to manually opt a contact back in on your end, here there are three ways those contacts can get opted back in:

1. You can direct them to sign back up through one of your signup forms, which will "reactivate" their contact record.

2. They can click the "Manage your preferences" link at the bottom of any old mailing in their inbox; then they'll receive an email asking them to confirm opt-in and they must click for this option to work. 

3. Alternatively, we're always happy to opt them back in for you -- just forward an email with their written permission to support@myemma.com and we can take care of it from there.

Please let me know if you have any follow-up questions for me!

- Grey