I would like to delete all of the contacts from both a group and the masterlist.

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
  • Answered
Please help - this is super frustrating and not intuitive. We no longer need an entire group of contacts and would like them completely deleted from our account without having to remove each individually.
Photo of Gabrielle

Gabrielle

  • 18 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 4 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Laura Dickerson

Laura Dickerson, Official Rep

  • 778 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi There,

To delete everyone in a group. Go to Audience and click on the name of the group that you want to delete. This will take you to where you can see the Active tab.
  1. In the Active tab you will see directly below it the wording "Active contacts are expected to receive your mailings." Below that you will see the word "Take"
  2. In the drop down next to the word "Take" Screen Shot 2015-01-26 at 101723 AMpngtoggle "selected contacts"  to read "all contacts" :
  3. Click the delete button and change "this group" in the drop down to "all group *and* your audience."
That will delete the contacts. Then all you will need to do is delete a group.  To do this, simply select the 'Delete this group' option from the dropdown menu to the right of any group name.
(To delete multiple groups at once, check the groups and use the main options button in the top-right corner of the audience list. Choose 'Delete selected.')

I hope this helps!
Photo of Gabrielle

Gabrielle

  • 18 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Thanks so much! Can you also tell me if Error and Opt-out emails count towards the number of contacts we are getting billed for?
Photo of Laura Dickerson

Laura Dickerson, Official Rep

  • 778 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes
Hello!

Your Opt-outs and Errors do not count towards the total. You only get billed for your Active contacts.
Photo of Gabrielle

Gabrielle

  • 18 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Great, thanks Laura!
Photo of Laura Dickerson

Laura Dickerson, Official Rep

  • 778 Posts
  • 64 Reply Likes
Happy to help!
Photo of HandsOn Greater Richmond

HandsOn Greater Richmond

  • 5 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi there - when I attempt to delete a segment, I receive a popup message that says, "are you sure you want to delete all contacts from all lists".  I do not want to delete all contacts from ALL lists, just from the one segment I am working with.  I don't recall seeing that specific message before - can you clarify?