If a user is in error status, but signs up for a different group are they automatically moved back to active?

  • 0
  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 8 months ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: EOL CLEANUP

My entire question is basically listed in the title. If a user ends up in an error status, but they sign up for a new group, are they automatically switched back to active? 
Photo of Amy Sanders

Amy Sanders

  • 42 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes

Posted 8 months ago

  • 0
  • 2
Photo of Nate Gallagher

Nate Gallagher, Employee

  • 41 Posts
  • 5 Reply Likes
Hi Amy, 

A contact will remain in Error status until changed manually to Active or Opt-out, even if they sign up for a new group. 

I hope this info helps! 

- Nate 
Photo of Landon Harrell

Landon Harrell

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Can you please explain the logic on this further? If they have error status but then add themselves to another group then by definition that contact is "active" so shouldn't their status change? 
Photo of Grey Stepp

Grey Stepp, Support Team Manager

  • 1700 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
It's important to remember that a contact record is a singular thing in Emma.  A single contact can be assigned to multiple groups, but the contact record in itself is not dependent on that group membership, so the contact's status is universal, regardless of group.  

If a contact record is in error status, it typically means one of 2 things.  Either the email address is incorrectly formatted or we have already tried to deliver email to that address and it bounced back to us as undeliverable.   Neither of those things would change by someone using a signup form.  

The only way for a contact to be moved back to active from error is from manually from inside the account. 

It is also possible that the contact was moved manually into error status, but again, using a signup form does not change this action, and the account owner is in control of that contact's status.  
Photo of Amy Sanders

Amy Sanders

  • 42 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Thank you. Does the same apply to archived contacts?
(Edited)
Photo of Grey Stepp

Grey Stepp, Support Team Manager

  • 1700 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
Archived contacts would still retain the status they were in when they were archived.  So if they were in Error status and you archived them, they would remain in error status, even if you brought them out of the archive.  You would want to change their status after bringing them back (either via "Add a Contact" or via Import).  

Archived contacts who sign up using a signup form would receive a message saying that they need to reach out to the account holder to be added back.  Archived contacts cannot add themselves back in to your active audience.