If someone unsubscribes and then I re-import my database, will Emma detect them and keep them on the opt-out list?

  • 2
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
I am planning on re-importing my database each month to keep it current. But I want to make sure that my unsubscribers stay on the opt-out list. Upon importing again, will Emma automatically detect the opt-outs and keep them that way, or do I have to manually adjust their status?
Photo of What Matters Ministries and Missions

What Matters Ministries and Missions

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 2
  • 1
Photo of Greg Rathbun

Greg Rathbun, Customer Service Specialist

  • 296 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
Official Response
That's an excellent question!

Emma will automatically remember which of your contacts have opted out, regardless of if you re-import them or even delete and then later re-add the contact.
Photo of What Matters Ministries and Missions

What Matters Ministries and Missions

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Perfect! Thank you, Greg!
Photo of Whistle Pik Galleries

Whistle Pik Galleries

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
What if they haven't Opted out through Emma, but have been removed from our list that we are importing? We've had a client do that and we just discovered today that they were still on the list on Emma.
Photo of Greg Rathbun

Greg Rathbun, Customer Service Specialist

  • 296 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
If you’re importing contacts that have opted out through a source other than Emma, you’ll need to manually opt them out after importing them.




You can opt contacts out individually by viewing the contact in the audience tab and changing their status to opt-out from active.




A good way of doing this in bulk is to import the previously opted out contacts together in a new group. Open the group and choose to take all contacts and change their status to opt-out.

Photo of Lorie L

Lorie L

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Greg, question - we have multiple mailing groups & some contacts fall into more than one group. If a contact opts out, does it take them out of that particular group or ALL groups?
Photo of Greg Rathbun

Greg Rathbun, Customer Service Specialist

  • 296 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
Great question!

Opted-out contacts are considered opted-out across your Emma account. They will still show up in any groups you might have them in (just in the opt-out tab instead of the active tab).
Photo of Marsh & McLennan Agency LLC

Marsh & McLennan Agency LLC

  • 5 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Greg:  We have a large spreadsheet that multiple users update on a regular basis.  Each time I do a mailing for them, I import the most current version of this to emma.  The problem we're having is the same as above ("What if they haven't Opted out through Emma, but have been removed from our list that we are importing? We've had a client do that and we just discovered today that they were still on the list on Emma.")  With so many people updating this spreadsheet on a regular basis, I can't see them remembering to let me know each time they delete a client so I can manually opt them out or delete them from emma.  Isn't there an easier way?


Photo of Greg Rathbun

Greg Rathbun, Customer Service Specialist

  • 296 Posts
  • 22 Reply Likes
I can understand where that would be more difficult with multiple users editing the spreadsheet.

One possible solution would be to save a copy of the spreadsheet each time you upload to Emma. Then before your next upload, compare your current version with the saved copy, looking for clients that have been removed, then deleting those contacts within Emma.

You could also do this within Emma by importing contacts into a new group each time you import contacts. Then create a segment looking for all the contacts in the previous group that are not in the new group and delete those contacts.
Photo of The Dinex Group

The Dinex Group

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi Greg, 
Is there a fix yet for the above question? " we have multiple mailing groups & some contacts fall into more than one group. If a contact opts out, does it take them out of that particular group or ALL groups?"

I know you said that the contact will be opted out from all lists - but is there a way to make it clear to them when they're opting out that it's from ALL lists? Is there an option to allow them to select which lists they can opt out of?

We have varying restaurants, and I fear that people don't understand that when they opt out from one list, they won't be receiving mailings from any of our properties. 

Thank you, 
selina 
(Edited)
Photo of Adriane Smith

Adriane Smith, Customer Support Specialist

  • 506 Posts
  • 53 Reply Likes
Hi Selina,

Adriane here, jumping in for Greg on this one. I think it would be a good idea to include that reminder somewhere in your communication to your contacts, maybe in the footer area as a disclaimer. Another way you could manage this is by having your contacts 'manage their preferences' when they first sign up, and ever so often to assure they are only receiving the type of communication they really want. This allows them to select (or deselect) the groups they would like to be added to or removed from. There's some helpful information on this topic here, so let me know if you find that helpful or if you still have questions!
Photo of Adriane Smith

Adriane Smith, Customer Support Specialist

  • 506 Posts
  • 53 Reply Likes
Hey Selina, 

Just checking back in on you to see if you have any lingering questions here. Let me know if I can help with anything!