Importing, Deleting, Archiving Contacts via groups

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 6 months ago
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: EOL CLEANUP

Question - we constantly update our undergrad and grad student lists. Previously, to ensure that graduated students or students who were no longer a part of our college, before importing a new list, we would delete the student group.

With the new account setup it, it seems to that archiving is the choice instead of deleting. If I archive the student groups, will that remove the contacts completely from that group so that when I import the new list they will no longer be in it? It is important that our lists/groups be up-to-date when sending out correspondence. Furthermore - some of those contacts no longer need to be in our system at all, and the mass delete seemed like the easiest way to remove them because I the lists are so large there is not a way to go through them individually.

Thanks for your help.
Photo of Beth

Beth

  • 6 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 6 months ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Anthony Miranda

Anthony Miranda, Customer Support Specialist

  • 135 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes
Hi Beth - thanks for reaching out! I'd be happy to shine some light on that change to your workflow.

In the new-and-improved Emma interface, we've altered the language we use for managing contacts. Instead of using the term "delete", we've replace it with "archive". They are effectively the same action and you won't notice any difference in the way that behaves compared to the delete option. You can still delete all contacts in a group at once by using the Actions dropdown at the top of the list and looking for "Archive All".

Part of the reason we adjusted that language was to make it clearer that anything you archive/delete would be recoverable from the Archived Items (previously Deleted Items) area of your account. That section has always been there, but we felt it was a good idea to move away from the more permanent implication of the word "delete".

I hope this information is helpful! Feel free to send over a reply if you have any other questions.