Is it possible to delete an uploaded document where the link won't work in the email anymore?

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Not a Problem
I deleted a document that was uploaded to an email. I don't want the document to be accessed anymore. Is that possible?
Photo of Christ the King

Christ the King

  • 6 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Sam Collis

Sam Collis, Customer Support Specialist

  • 252 Posts
  • 59 Reply Likes
Hi there,

Thanks for a great question.

When you upload a document or image to their respective libraries they are stored on our servers in the cloud.  Each email sent out with a link to that document is not actually linking to that document in your document library, but a version of that document stored in the cloud.  This allows users to keep a clean document library without having to worry about breaking previous links when they need to delete a previously used document.  On the flip side, in this situation it also means that once that email is in an inbox, your readers will retain access to that document.

In this particular case I'm going to check in with our development team to see what sort of process is involved in removing that particular document permanently.  In the meantime it would be helpful if you could refer us to which particular link/document it is that you're trying to remove.

I'll be sure to reach out when I hear back :)
Photo of Sam Collis

Sam Collis, Customer Support Specialist

  • 252 Posts
  • 59 Reply Likes
Hi there.

Breaking a link in an existing email is indeed something that our team can do for you.  This will produce an error when the link is clicked in those mailings instead of taking your reader to that document.

If you're able to let me know the name of the campaign and the specific link inside to the document, I can pass that on to our dev team that can have that done for you!

Let me know :)
Photo of APCOM

APCOM

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
When I remove the documents that I see in my library (to clean it up), does this also wipe it from your server and the links break? Or, will it remain on your server with the links intact in previously sent emails?
(Edited)
Photo of Marc P

Marc P, Employee

  • 8 Posts
  • 8 Reply Likes
Hi! A copy is made when the mailing is sent and associated with that specific mailing. If you delete the master from your library, the copy remains for up to 18 months (the standard lifetime of a mailing).
(Edited)
Photo of National Audio Systems

National Audio Systems

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hello, I have a problem with this exact issue – my employer wants all document links within our account removed permanently as they are all essentially outdated sales and price lists. We have one super urgent one (recent) that is causing us problems with a supplier and at least need that particular one removed ASAP.
Photo of Grey Stepp

Grey Stepp, Support Team Manager

  • 1699 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
Hi there National Audio Systems.  I'd like to shoot you an email so we can discuss this further.  I'll reach out to the email address associated with your login here, but let me know if there's a different address that would be better to reach you.  

-G