opt out due to forwarding through Outlook

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • Answered
We have several members of our association who forward our e-mails through Outlook to their customers. Once in awhile a customer will select the opt out feature at the bottom of the e-mail. Since the member forwarded the e-mail incorrectly (not using the share feature in the e-mail), the member is then opted out of our e-mails. We try to train them on the correct way of sharing the e-mails but most are forget as the default is to just hit the forward option.

My question - is there a way to strip the code that has the person's details from the e-mail if it is forwarded through Outlook? Not sure if your system can recognize that it is being done and deactivate any changes to that person's Emma account. 
Photo of Amber Howell

Amber Howell

  • 90 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Emily Hollingsworth

Emily Hollingsworth, Alum

  • 2203 Posts
  • 158 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi Amber -- Great question, and you certainly know what you're talking about here! Using the "Share By Email" feature in the mailing is the only way to ensure that the original sender won't be opted out, because using that button removes the personalization in the opt-out link.

I just tested this in my account. When I used the share this email button to forward the email from my Macmail inbox to my Gmail inbox and then hit the opt out link, it had the gmail address listed there as the one I was opting out. Make sense? :)
(Edited)
Photo of Amber Howell

Amber Howell

  • 90 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Correct - that makes sense. My question is, is there a way for Emma to strip the personalization if someone uses the forward option from their e-mail account instead of the share option? Not sure if this is possible but would help as our members seem to forget to use the share button even after reminding.
Photo of Emily Hollingsworth

Emily Hollingsworth, Alum

  • 2203 Posts
  • 158 Reply Likes
Hey Amber -- No. There isn't a way to do that when the email client forward button is used, because the email is already living in their inbox and we can no longer access the code. 
Photo of Amber Howell

Amber Howell

  • 90 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Thanks. That is what I needed to know. Now to only get the members to follow directions...