Someone has already opted in but why is the current status is opt-out?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • (Edited)

Hi. I am trying to add contacts.

In some contacts, their confirmed status is already opt-in before but Contact status(current status) is opt-out.

Is there any way to change their status to active?

Thanks.

Photo of Multinational Exchange for Sustainable Agriculture (MESA)

Posted 1 year ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Grey Stepp

Grey Stepp, Support Team Manager

  • 1700 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
Hi there!  

Thanks for reaching out!  

In the example shown above, it looks like they confirmed opt-in back in 2009.  If you click to view the contact's history, you can see when they opted out (likely some time after that) .  

Check out Sam's instructions HERE on how to get folks opted back in. 

Cheers!

- Grey 
Thanks. Grey.

It said "No date available, must have been opted out manually".
What does this mean?

Photo of Grey Stepp

Grey Stepp, Support Team Manager

  • 1700 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
Hey there!   There could be 2 scenarios that would show that message:

1. The contact had been opted out manually within the account.

2. The contact may have opted out more than 18 months ago.  After 18 months we purge old mailing/response data, and so if the contact was opted out more than 18 months ago, we no longer have the mailing data.  NOTE:  We DO, obviously, still hold on to the fact that they were opted out, but the information on what mailing they opted out of is no longer in our system. 

Let me know if you need any additional clarity on this!