Should I delete my contacts in error status?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
I have quite a lot of error contacts. Should I delete these? How do I go about doing so?
Photo of State of Fitness

State of Fitness

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 3 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Anthony Miranda

Anthony Miranda, Customer Support Specialist

  • 135 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes
Hi there,

While those error contacts aren't going to cause you any problems if they remain in your audience, I've found that it is helpful to delete them. It not only keeps your audience tidy, but it also allows for you to keep track of any trends in error statuses.

You can delete the error contacts from a particular group or from your entire audience using this method:

- View the contacts in a specific group (or head to "view all contacts" on the audience page)
- Switch to the "Error" tab to see the list of all error contacts
- Use the dropdown at the top of the list to select "All contacts"
- Hit the button next to them that says "delete them"


Once that is confirmed, you'll notice that the error counts on your groups will be updated to show the new amount.

Hope that helps! Let me know if you have any questions.
Photo of Swarthmore College

Swarthmore College

  • 21 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
I have the same question but about my opt-outs. Would you recommend deleting opt-outs in the "View all Contacts" view?

And, if so, what happens if I accidentally try to re-upload an opt-ed out record? Would that show up again on the opt-outs tab on "View all Contacts"?

We are regularly checking our opt-outs to code in our internal database and I want to know how I can streamline this process - deleting all the old opt-outs and then checking back to see what's new seems the easiest, but I want to make sure that won't complicate things. 
Photo of Anthony Miranda

Anthony Miranda, Customer Support Specialist

  • 135 Posts
  • 16 Reply Likes
I think that your idea of deleting all of the current opt-outs to make tracking any new opt-outs an easy process is excellent. That would be what I recommend.

One of the great things about Emma is how we manage opt-outs. You won't need to worry about them after they are deleted, because even if they are accidentally imported, Emma will automatically put them back into opt-out status again to ensure that they aren't sent anything.