Signup already existing contacts in new group

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 5 months ago
  • Solved
  • (Edited)
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: EOL CLEANUP

Hello!  I have a question regarding the signup form: due to new and very stict regulations regarding user data set by EU, our company needs to ask each and every user to sign up completely new. So we need to create all new mailing lists and discard all the old ones. I already created an new group where all the signups will be collected (we are planning to ask our users in our next newsletters, so we cannot delete them yet).
It worked quite fine so far in the internal tests. We tried to sign up with new email addresses and also with already existing ones and they all landed in the designated group. But one of our testers received attached responses and didn ́t show up in the new group (I activated only this new group for the signup-form). Does anybody know what happened here? 
How can we avoid that those "new" subscriptions do get messed up with the old ones as (almost) all of those who sign in are already there in our contacts?  What I mean is: We need to make sure that those "new" subscriptions only go the new group. I just found out that those users who once opted out nd now sign up again, are directed to the "old" (the wrong) group. It seems that the confirmation of the op-in invitation goes to the wrong group. Where can I change the settings so not only those who sign up completely new, but also all those who re-optin are directed to the new group?


Sorry for my halting English - I hope you can help me still.  Thanks in advance for you efforts!
Photo of Include IT Gmbh

Include IT Gmbh

  • 13 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 5 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Zach Sharpe

Zach Sharpe, Employee

  • 290 Posts
  • 32 Reply Likes
Hello!

I'm sorry to see you're running into some inconsistencies here! If someone is using a signup form as an opted out contact, this will in turn only help them opt back in not be added to the new group.

As an alternative you could use the confirm opt in link to as contacts to confirm their membership to your mailings list and separate contacts that have not. See more on this here:

https://support.e2ma.net/Resource_Center/Account_how-to/seeing-an-individuals-confirmed-status

Additionally, you could send out a mailing with the opt in confirmation link and segment contacts based on this link click. For more information on this see our article on sending out a reengagement email:

https://support.e2ma.net/Resource_Center/Account_how-to/Create_an_opt-in_confirmation_mailing

And to supplement this, our segmentation instructions for when you're looking to target your contacts to send to going forward:

https://support.e2ma.net/Resource_Center/Account_how-to/Using_the_segment_builder

I hope this helps provide some options for you!

Feel free to see our own work in the world of privacy and security, including GDPR improvements, here:

myemma.com/trust

Cheers!

Zach
Photo of Include IT Gmbh

Include IT Gmbh

  • 13 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Thank you very much for your fast reply! We will work through your information to find the best way for us! So thank you for giving us several options and ideas how to solve this issue! :-)
Kind regards!