Template builder "retire" questions

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
Hello,

I was wondering a couple questions:

Why does the Template Builder "retire" templates instead of delete them?  
Is there a place you can go to view all of your "retired" templates?
If you have a previously built sub-account template that is based on a "retired" template, what happens to it?

Thank you!
Photo of K

K

  • 16 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Adriane Smith

Adriane Smith, Customer Support Specialist

  • 506 Posts
  • 53 Reply Likes
Hi there!

Yes, you can retrieve retired templates. There's a 'master' drop down arrow on the Template Builder page in Assets. Simple click this arrow and select 'include retired templates' to show those in your template list. 


 
If you retire a shared template, that template goes away from the sub account it is shared with. If you retrieve the template, it is automatically re-shared with the sub account it was originally shared with, and you can adjust that in Template Builder if you'd prefer to un-share a retrieved template. Does that all make sense?

Let me know if you still have questions, and I'll be glad to assist with those!
Photo of K

K

  • 16 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Hi Adriane,

Only one question, if an already created or sent sub-account mailing uses a retired template, will it still have all of the custom CSS from the retired template, or will it lose the custom styling?

The rest of it makes perfect sense.  I didn't think to look under that options in the Template Builder since I'm used to the regular grey dropdown menu in the sub-accounts which don't have the option to see deleted items.

Speaking of deleting, is there any way to actually delete and completely remove a retired template like you can with deleted items in sub-accounts?

Also, when you retrieve (or un-retire) a template that was shared to sub-accounts and make changes to it, will the changes automatically update in the sub-accounts, or do you have to re-share it with them for the changes to take affect?

Thanks again. :)
Photo of Adriane Smith

Adriane Smith, Customer Support Specialist

  • 506 Posts
  • 53 Reply Likes
Hi again!

Really great questions!  If there is a sub account that started a mailing with a shared template which has since been retired before they've sent it, the template will not render consistently. 

If that template is 'un-retired' in Assets, it will automatically get re-shared with the sub account(s) it had orignally been shared with. This will ONLY happen if you first select to 'include retired templates' in the view and then click the option to 'activate this template' from the dropdown to the right of the template name.  

Currently, there is not a way to fully delete a template from Assets.

Any changes made to a template in Assets will also be reflected in the sub account without having to re-share that template. However, if that template is also being used in an unsent mailing prior to the edit to the template, the mailing will not update with the new changes in the template. You would need to go to 'show templates' and re-select the appropriate template to see the edits to that template in the mailing. 

Does all that make sense?
Photo of K

K

  • 16 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Everything makes perfect sense.  Thank you again!