Undo/Redo feature not working

  • 0
  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
I'm working on designing a new campaign and the undo/redo feature is not working. I click the buttons but nothing happens. Suggestions?
Photo of eanderson

eanderson

  • 16 Posts
  • 3 Reply Likes

Posted 5 years ago

  • 0
  • 2
Photo of Adriane Smith

Adriane Smith, Customer Support Specialist

  • 506 Posts
  • 53 Reply Likes
Hi there,

Thanks for writing, and I'm happy to help.  If you've waited a few seconds and nothing has changed, go ahead and click the undo button one more time to see it that undoes the action. 

 The 'undo' button is designed to work similarly to the way it works in word processors. It will revert a single action made in the editor. For example, if you make part of a sentence bold, part of it italicized, and then part of it underlined, the first 'undo' should revert the underline. Hit undo again, and it should revert the italics, and then the third time the bold should be reverted. If these changes are made quickly, within the same moment the campaign is saving, it is possible the undo button will revert all the changes made in that moment. Undo will not work if you've exited the campaign and come back in, and you'll want to wait a couple of seconds for the change to take place once you've clicked the undo button, so as not to click it several times and undo too many steps. 

Please keep me in the loop if that doesn't work! I'd love to know the specific steps you're taking if possible, so I can report to our Systems team if it's behaving oddly. 
Photo of Adriane Smith

Adriane Smith, Customer Support Specialist

  • 506 Posts
  • 53 Reply Likes
Hey there! I just wanted to reach out once more in case you are still needing help with this. If I can assist further, please let me know. 
Photo of Mandate Media

Mandate Media

  • 33 Posts
  • 11 Reply Likes
Yeah, it regularly doesn't work.  It's so badly broken that we make jokes about it in our office.  Just about every time, you click undo, and it undoes something else entirely -- that you did three steps ago.  (Like, you delete a line, and click undo, and instead of restoring that line, it undoes a bold you did into another paragraph.)  

Almost inevitably, when someone in our office groans out loud -- or hollers a four-letter word -- someone says, "Emma Undo?"  So bad.
Photo of Emily Hollingsworth

Emily Hollingsworth, Alum

  • 2203 Posts
  • 158 Reply Likes
Hi there -- Thanks for sharing this with us. I hate to hear that you're seeing consistent issues with the Undo button functionality. We've gotten a few other reports of the Undo button acting up, so we made a point to test the functionality and determine exactly what the Undo button is capable of "undoing." So far in our testing, the undo button should be able to revert both text additions and text styling. 

It is important to keep in mind that it often takes a few seconds for the change to take place after clicking Undo. I did notice in my testing today that the first time I hit Undo it didn't seem to change anything. I'm thinking it could be just reverting to the version before the last save, which likely isn't any different than the current version since the editor autosaves so frequently. The second click of undo reverted the most recent change and so on.

If you're still seeing unexpected behavior, I'd love to have you walk me through a round of edits and undos... for example, "I typed a sentence, made it bold, chose Arial as the font, clicked Undo and all the text was gone." If you wanted to include screenshots here that would be helpful as well. Thanks!
Photo of Northwest Earth Institute

Northwest Earth Institute

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I just accidentally deleted the message box that had all my text and links for a new campaign. It was a slip of the mouse and when I clicked back, if didn't restore the content. I never clicked save, so I assumed if I reopened the campaign it would be there. It is not. Now I have to retype everything :( 
Photo of Emily Hollingsworth

Emily Hollingsworth, Alum

  • 2203 Posts
  • 158 Reply Likes
I hate to hear that you lost your work! I just did a quick test in my account to confirm that the Redo button will bring back a deleted content block. Did you try the back button, as in the Undo button or did you click the forward arrow (Redo) to revert your last action? It is important to remember that the Undo button can only revert actions taken during your current editing session, so leaving the campaign and reopening it will start a new editing session which refreshes that list of actions taken in the editor. 

Next time, I'd try that Redo arrow and give the editor a few seconds to try bringing that back. I also like to keep my content saved on a note or a text file so I can copy it again if needed. I know that doesn't help you out this time, but maybe it will be helpful next time!
Photo of McCoy Workplace Solutions

McCoy Workplace Solutions

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Same problem here. Undo did not work. The email autosaved so quickly that my text block was lost immediately. I was surprised I couldn't revert to an older version of the email. This feature really needs to be fixed.
Photo of Emily Hollingsworth

Emily Hollingsworth, Alum

  • 2203 Posts
  • 158 Reply Likes
Thanks so much for sharing this experience here. We're definitely working to make the Undo button more predictable and reliable. I've also added your account to a feature request that we have for retaining past versions of a mailing in the drag & drop editor. This functionality isn't in the current plans, but we're actively collecting use cases to take directly to the product team. I've got yours recorded.

In the meantime, you can always make a copy of your current mailing before you begin editing, That way you have a previous version to revert back to if you'd like to backtrack at all. 
Photo of Classroom Complete Press

Classroom Complete Press

  • 8 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hello!

I've had the same ongoing issue of the undo button not working - I accidentally pressed the deleted button and now have to re-write the text I had. I sure hope this is resolved soon.

Thank you,

Rosalyn
Photo of Damian Gatta

Damian Gatta, Official Rep

  • 342 Posts
  • 43 Reply Likes
Hi Rosalyn, 

I hate to hear that you lost your work and had to re-write your content.  Our team is still working to make the functionality of the Undo button a little better!  I have gone ahead and added your case to the existing feature request so that our team is made aware.  I do not have a timeline on when this will be worked on but it is definitely on the radar of the team.
Photo of CalArts

CalArts

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hello,

My colleagues and I here at CalArts are experiencing the same issue of the Undo button not working when we're working on revising our campaign templates. Not sure if others are experiencing the same issue recently. I see that the last post about this was 6 months ago.

Thanks,

Aiza
Photo of Alison Hallett

Alison Hallett

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
I just lost an hour's worth of work because the "undo" button reverted to a previous version of a document (instead of simply undoing a formatting change), and then wouldn't let me "redo." Its very, very frustrating that this basic functionality is so broken.
Photo of Swagelok Southeast Texas

Swagelok Southeast Texas

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Same thing just happened to me!!  I've been hitting the undo button praying it would revert to my last action, which is all I needed to be finished so I could move on to a new project.  But nothing.  This really needs to be fixed ASAP. 
Photo of Northwest Earth Institute

Northwest Earth Institute

  • 10 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
The undo button just failed me again as well :-(
Photo of Grey Stepp

Grey Stepp, Support Team Manager

  • 1700 Posts
  • 135 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi folks!  

I'm happy to announce that TODAY we have done away with the undo button!  

We have now REPLACED the undo button with our new "Revert To" button!  





In the new system, for EACH INDIVIDUAL EDITING SESSION, Emma will check every 15 seconds to see if you've made changes to your mailing and save that version of your mailing.  

If you find that you need to revert back to an earlier version, click the "Revert To" button to choose the time-frame that you need to revert back to.  

We will save up to 30 versions per editing session, at which point the older ones begin to roll off.  

It's very important to note that the "Revert To" only works in a single session and will reset any time you leave the editor (or if you refresh your browser window).  

Let me know if you have any questions!  

- Grey 
Photo of Grand Performances

Grand Performances

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
This is very helpful. Thank You!