Will deleting an import list delete contacts if they subscribe elsewhere after the initial import?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
If I import a list for a single-use blast, if I go back later to delete the list will it also delete the contact elsewhere if they subsequently subscribed to other newsletters after the initial blast? I need to clean up our contacts list and I'm a little worried I may inadvertently delete contacts who want to stay subscribed. 
Photo of The University of Georgia Press

The University of Georgia Press

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 4 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Katie Lewis

Katie Lewis, Official Rep

  • 3414 Posts
  • 309 Reply Likes
Hi there! It depends on how you delete. When looking at the audience group after selecting which contacts you want to delete, you have the option to delete them only from that group or from all groups *and* your audience.



You'll select this group if you want to continue using this group but don't want those people to be members of it. You'll select all groups *and* your audience if you don't want those people to be in your Emma account anymore.

Are you wanting to only delete that grouping of people so you no longer see the group? You can do that by clicking the downward-pointing arrow to the right of the group from your main Audience page and selecting to delete it.



That will remove the group but not the people in the group. It sounds like you want to go this route, that you want to visually clean up your Audience page but not inadvertently remove anyone. Then later, you can segment your audience to find people who haven't, say, opened your emails in a set amount of time and delete them, if you want to clean up those contacts, too. :)